A “tap on the back” from Singapore

I received a letter from Dr Mohd Effendy Bin Rajab informing me, on behalf of the Singapore Scouts Association, that I am being awarded the Distinguished Service (Bronze) Award recognizing my significant service to the Scout Movement.  The Distinguished Service Bronze Award is conferred to adult leaders who have dedicated themselves to the cause of the Scout movement and have been an inspiration for Scouts in Singapore.
Istana
The awarding ceremony was held on 24 July 2013 at 1430Hrs in the Istana.  The Istana, meaning “palace” in Malay, is the official residence and office of the President of Singapore.  It was my first time inside Istana and it was gorgeous!!  The sprawling green lawn with the 18th century building at the background is an awesome sight.  I did not realize that there is a place like that in the middle of Singapore’s central business district – next to Orchard Road!
DSC_7614
We were required to be at the Isatana one hour before the ceremony for instructions on protocol and for rehearsals.  Chow Hock Lin, Assistant Chief Commissioner (Adult Resources), led the briefing on protocol.  The Presidential Security was very accommodating – coaching us with protocol and smiling.  The ceremony was very simple yet very elegant.  It was an honor to receive the Distinguished Service (Bronze) Award of the Singapore Scouts Association from the President of the Republic of Singapore, Tony Tan Keng Yam.
This year, only three overseas Scouts was awarded Distinguished Service Awards – Haji Badar Bin Haji Ali of Brunei Darussalam, Kuo Tim Ming of Taiwan and myself.
DSC_7853
I would like to thank the Singapore Scout Association for this award.  I feel humbled by this recognition as I am just doing my job and at the same time, I am grateful for recognizing my service to the Singapore Scout Association and to Scouting, in general. This gesture is, indeed, a very generous “tap on the back” which inspires me to keep on doing a good job.Thank you, Singapore Scouts Association for your generosity!
DSC_7838
One response to “A “tap on the back” from Singapore

  1. Hi Dong,
    An inestimable honor indeed. I’m sure it will inspire you to do even better. Way to go!!!

Leave a Reply

